What We Do

It takes a village of volunteers to make our work possible.  No matter what your skills or how much time you have to share, we have an opportunity for you.

Read more about the many ways to become involved. Not sure where to start?  Read below and contact us at the email addresses listed if you are interested!

PTA Membership

Sign up to be part of Jamestown PTA and have a voice in the decisions the organization makes. Come to the meetings. Bring your ideas. Make a difference!

Areas of Focus for the PTA

There are 4 areas of focus: Community Relations, Fundraising, Internal Relations and Communications.  Scroll down to see information about work in each of these areas.

Community Relations (community-relations@jamestownpta.org)

Community Service/Outreach
Jamestown Elementary gives to many causes in the Arlington community. Students find these opportunities very rewarding. Contact community-service-outreach@jamestownpta.org to learn more.

The Annual Ice Cream Social
This PTA-sponsored event is free for families and a great way to get the community together for treats and fun. The Ice Cream Social is scheduled at the beginning of the school year. To help with this event, contact ice-cream-social@jamestownpta.org.

Reflections Art Contest
This nationwide art contest invites students to submit their original artwork. Every year a new topic is chosen and the categories include visual arts, photography, musical competition, literary art and dance.  Contact reflections-contest@jamestownpta.org to learn more.

The New Families Program
Families new to Jamestown with students in first grade or higher can be paired with another family to welcome them to the school and make the transition easier. Contact new-families@jamestownpta.org for more information.

The Hospitality Committee
This committee provides treats and/or lunches at many of the staff meetings throughout the school year. It’s one way parents can show their appreciation for the hardworking staff at Jamestown Elementary.  Lend a hand by contacting hospitality@jamestownpta.org.

Countywide PTA
Inquire about the following countywide roles to represent Jamestown Elementary: Advisory Council on Instruction, PTA County Council, Legislative Representative for State PTA, School, Board representative. Contact community-relations@jamestownpta.org to learn more.

Social Committee
This committee puts on events (e.g., movie night, board game night, etc.) throughout the school year to enhance the Jamestown community experience.  Join us at social@jamestownpta.org.

 

Fundraising (fundraising@jamestownpta.org)

Book Fair
Students can purchase books at our annual book fair each November and earn money for our school. Parents may also purchase and donate books on “teacher wish lists” to help fill classroom libraries. For more information contact fall-book-fair@jamestownpta.org.

Donations
The PTA welcomes donations in lieu of participation in any fundraiser. You may donate online at the PTA Store or mail a check made out to the Jamestown PTA to the attention of the PTA Treasurer at 3700 N. Delaware St., Arlington, VA 22207.  The Jamestown PTA is a subordinate of the Virginia Congress of Parents and Teachers (Viriginia PTA), a 501(c)(3) organization, and donations are tax deductible.  The PTA will furnish a receipt for all cash donations and may provide a receipt for noncash donations upon request. (Click here to submit a request for a receipt for a noncash donation.)  For more information contact treasurer@jamestownpta.org.

Class Pictures
The PTA earns money from school photos taken each fall. For more information contact class-pictures@jamestownpta.org.

Grocery Program

Parents and teachers can earn money for the PTA simply by registering their grocery cards to Jamestown. Safeway and Giant donate a percentage of money spent on almost all products.  Harris Teeter donates a percentage of money spent on Harris Teeter products and Target will donate 1% of Target purchases made with a registered Target credit card as part of their Take Charge of Education program. Click here to learn more about registering your cards online or to submit your information for us to do it for you.  For more information contact grocery-cards@jamestownpta.org.

Merchandise
Show your school spirit by wearing Jamestown apparel, putting a magnet on your car, or using a water bottle. For more information contact jamestown-merchandise@jamestownpta.org.

Spring Fair
Each spring the PTA puts on a fair at the school for students, teachers, and neighbors. The fair features face painting, a hair salon, a moon bounce, concessions, games, and lots of fun. The spring fair is run entirely by parent volunteers, so please plan to donate at least one hour of your time towards helping at a booth. For more information contact spring-fair@jamestownpta.org.

Winter Social
The Winter Social is a night time event for parents and staff in January or February and our largest fundraiser each year.  The Winter Social begins with cocktails and a silent auction featuring baskets for each classroom and teacher adventures and is followed by food, a live auction, and dancing. For more information contact winter-social@jamestownpta.org.

 

Internal Relations (internal-relations@jamestownpta.org)

After School Activities
After School Activities is a cornerstone of our enrichment program for Jamestown students. Private vendors offer a wide variety of enrichment sessions during after school hours, including arts & crafts, sports, and academic and cultural programs. For more information contact after-school-activities@jamestownpta.org.

Junior Great Books (JGB)
JGB is an enrichment program led by parent volunteers that encourages students to read, discuss and interpret selected readings. JGB meets weekly in small groups during an 8-10 week period, typically during lunch time beginning in mid-January. Parent volunteers will receive training, and it’s a great way to get to know students in a small setting and encourage a love of reading and literature. For more information contact junior-great-books@jamestownpta.org.

Odyssey of the Mind
Odyssey of the Mind is an international educational program that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college. Team members apply their creativity to solve problems that range from building mechanical devices to presenting their own interpretation of literary classics. There are opportunities for students to participate and parent volunteers to lead Jamestown teams. For more information contact odyssey-of-the-mind@jamestownpta.org.

Outdoor Classroom
The Outdoor Classroom is located in the inner courtyard and includes outdoor classroom areas and a performance stage. It provides an opportunity for hands-on learning about nature and the environment, and volunteers are always needed to pitch in and help. Contact schoolyard-habitat@jamestownpta.org.

Landscaping/Grounds
Volunteers with “green thumbs” are always needed to help keep our landscaping and outdoor environment looking its best. For more information contact landscaping@jamestownpta.org.

School Play
The school play is a highlight for Jamestown students and parents alike. Practices generally begin in January/February with performances for the school and community occurring in March. Many volunteer opportunities exist for students and parents, including set work, play promotion, make-up, rehearsal assistance, and more. For more information contact school-play@jamestownpta.org.

Other PTA Internal Relations roles include:

 

Publications & Communications (communications@jamestownpta.org)

The Jamestown PTA produces a number of communications and publications throughout the school year to keep the Jamestown community informed about the numerous activities, events and other important issues involving the school, and to provide an opportunity for students to engage in writing and publishing activities.

Directory
The Jamestown PTA provides each family with a school directory at the beginning of each school year. For more information contact the Directory Editor at directory-editor@jamestownpta.org.

Poetry Journal
The Jamestown PTA publishes a Poetry Journal in the spring. This publication comprises a collection of student poetry and art work.  For more information contact the Poetry Journal at poetry-journal@jamestownpta.org.

PTA Website
The Jamestown PTA maintains a website (www.jamestownpta.org) that serves various functions for our community. For more information contact the PTA Website Editor at webmaster@jamestownpta.org.

Weekly PTA Email Newsletter
During the school year, the PTA sends out by email a comprehensive weekly newsletter with information about school and community activities and other items of interest to the Jamestown community. We encourage all families to subscribe to the newsletter. To subscribe, please send an email request to newsletter-editor@jamestownpta.org. Please include your child/children’s name and grade level(s) in the request.

Yearbook
The Jamestown PTA produces a yearbook with student photos arranged by class, as well as many candid shots.  Pre-paid yearbook orders are taken beginning in the fall.  Yearbooks are distributed at the end of the school year. For more information contact the Yearbook Editor at yearbook-editor@jamestownpta.org.